

Municipalities of Saskatchewan Unit 305 4741 Parliament Avenue Regina, SK S4W 0T9 306-525-3727

June 4, 2021

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Municipalities of Saskatchewan Transitioning to SUMA

Following a vote of the membership, Municipalities of Saskatchewan will be transitioning back to the name SUMA.

"As a member-focused association, our members will always have the final say on important decisions," said Mayor Rodger Hayward, President of Municipalities of Saskatchewan. "We respect the decision that has been reached through an open and transparent membership vote."

The membership vote was held electronically from June 1 to June 3. As per the association's bylaws, each municipality was afforded a number of voting delegates based on population, to vote on their municipality's behalf.

In total, 364 votes were cast. Ninety municipal representatives voted in favour of the organization changing its name to Municipalities of Saskatchewan, and 274 were opposed. Of the association's 12 regions, two of the regions were in favour of proceeding with the name change. Given the importance of the vote, the Board of Directors set the threshold for success of the rebranding as a supermajority, with 60 per cent of participating voting delegates needing to vote in favour, as well as a simple majority in at least seven of the association's 12 regions.

To ensure impartiality, voting was conducted electronically by Data On The Spot.

"No matter our name, our values and principles remain the same," said President Hayward. "We continue to represent the interests of Saskatchewan's hometowns – the cities, towns, villages, resort villages, and northern municipalities that more than 80 per cent of Saskatchewan's population call home."

The transition back to SUMA will begin taking place over the coming weeks.

-30-

For more information visit <u>www.munisask.ca</u>, or to arrange an interview please contact:

Sean McKenzie Director of Advocacy Services Municipalities of Saskatchewan Telephone: 306-525-4388 advocacydir@munisask.ca

Founded in 1905, Municipalities of Saskatchewan is the voice of Saskatchewan's hometowns.